How Can Florida’s 14-Day PIP Rule Affect Your Car Accident Case?
14-Day Rule Defined
Failure to seek medical care within 14 days of an auto accident will cause you to lose your right to receive Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, which could equal thousands of dollars in lost compensation. In Florida, you have 14 days after an auto accident to be examined by a healthcare professional – physician, dentist, urgent care center, hospital or chiropractor – or risk losing $10,000 in compensation you may be entitled to from the PIP insurance policy every Florida motorist is required to carry. PIP covers medical bills like emergency services, hospitals, diagnostic studies, a percentage of your lost wages, and more. Under the law, you must receive treatment within 14-days of an accident to be eligible for these benefits.
14-Day Rule Explained
As Florida personal injury lawyers with a combined 60+ years of experience, we recommend that you go to the hospital or a medical professional immediately after a car accident even if you don’t have visible injuries. Your insurance company will deny your claim if you fail to seek medical care under the 14-day rule.
Don’t Self-Diagnose … Seek Medical Attention ASAP
The following scenario plays out time and again, and we don’t want this to happen to you: A person involved in an accident feels some pain that they figure will go away so they don’t seek medical attention within the required 14-day window. However, the pain got worse and now they missed the deadline to receive PIP coverage.
Additionally, certain injuries may not be immediately apparent such as whiplash and internal injuries, which is why if you are involved in an accident you should be evaluated by a medical professional immediately to preserve your right to PIP benefits. If you have questions about which healthcare professionals qualify, call us at 561-361-8677. No one should give up $10,000 in medical benefits.
You should hire an attorney as soon as possible after a car accident to help guide you through the process of navigating the insurance system and seeking compensation from the negligent party.
In a recently filed lawsuit, a Glotzer & Kobren client was injured in an auto accident and she didn’t see a doctor until more than 14 days after the injury-causing event. “The client retained us months after her car accident, so we were not able to advise her of the 14-day requirement for PIP benefits,” explains Matthew Kobren, Esq. “The big takeaway is to get checked out by a healthcare professional immediately after an accident. Do not wait.”
Contact our personal injury attorneys for a free consultation. Our law firm represents clients throughout the State of Florida and our staff speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese, and Creole. If you or a loved one was unfortunate to be involved in an accident, call Glotzer & Kobren at 561-361-8677. There’s NO FEE unless we WIN.